Home Travel Seven Wonders of India

Seven Wonders of India


NDTV on 25th August 2008 announced the launch of its nationwide campaign, “7 Wonders of India”, in association with the Ministry of Tourism’s Incredible India campaign.

A first-of-its-kind initiative, 7 Wonders of India will uncover the seven best natural and man-made marvels in the country.

This is the first time that a television network has joined hands with the Ministry of Tourism to celebrate India’s incredibly rich heritage. Valuable support for this initiative has also come from India’s two leading corporates – State Bank of India and Tata Indicom.

About the campaign

The State Governments across the country will also be participating in all on ground activities, to take this campaign to the grassroots.

The campaign aims to provide an interactive and innovative platform for citizens from all Indian states, clubbed in 16 clusters, to choose the incomparable wonders in their state. The campaign, which commenced in September 2008, will be held over a period of one year. A series of special features on nominated heritage properties from each of the states will be telecast on NDTV.

Each month, seven uppermost choices in two state clusters will be declared. The top wonder from each of these states will be nominated for an all-India selection. NDTV viewers will be invited to submit their choices online or by sms. There will be a mass media campaign through print, radio and Internet.

And in a grand finale, the seven wonders of India will be announced on NDTV.

The campaign involves programming on NDTV and public participation through mass media, ground events and signature campaigns- all dedicated to explore the marvels tucked in different corners of India.

Speaking on the occasion, Dr. Prannoy Roy, Chairman, NDTV Ltd, said, “India is a treasure trove of astonishingly beautiful creations of art and architecture. It is our privilege to partner with the Ministry of Tourism’s Incredible India campaign to discover and bring forth these wonders tucked away around the country. We are confident that NDTV’s unique initiative will give people not only in India but across the world an opportunity to enjoy the magnificence of our 5000-year-old heritage.”

List of states and the no. of nominations from each state

1. Andhra Pradesh – 13 Nominations
2. West Bengal – 13 Nominations
3. Karnataka – 7 Nominations
4. Punjab, Haryana & Himachal Pradesh – 7 Nominations
5. Tamil Nadu – 13 Nominations
6. Delhi – 14 Nominations
7. North Eastern states – 7 Nominations
8. Rajasthan – 15 Nominations
9. Orissa – 13 Nominations
10. Uttar Pradesh & UT – 15 Nominations
11. Bihar & Jharkhand – 11 Nominations
12. Jammu & Kashmir – 14 Nominations
13. Kerala – 7 Nominations
14. Maharashtra & Goa – 7 Nominations
15. Madhya Pradesh & Chhatisgarh – 7 Nominations
16. Gujarat – 15 Nominations