Home General Facts & Figures ISRO – Pride of India

ISRO – Pride of India



The Indian Space Research Organisation or ISRO, is India’s national space agency. Indian space programme driven by vision of Dr Vikram Sarabhai considered as the father of Indian Space Programme.

Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) executes Space programme through its establishments located in different places in India.

The prime objective of ISRO is to develop space technology and its application to various national tasks. ISRO has established two major space systems, INSAT for communication, television broadcasting and meteorological services, and Indian Remote Sensing Satellites (IRS) system for resources monitoring and management. ISRO has developed two satellite launch vehicles, PSLV and GSLV, to place INSAT and IRS satellites in the required orbits.


Mr Madhavan Nair is currently the Chairman of Indian Space Research Organization entrusted with the responsibility of development of space technology and its applications to solve the problems of man & society in India.
During his tenure as Chairman(Since Sept. 2003), ISRO/Secretary, DOS, 17 successful missions were accomplished i.e.,, INSAT-3E, RESOURCESAT-1, EDUSAT, CARTOSAT-1, HAMSAT-1, INSAT-4A, PSLV-C5, GSLV-F1, PSLV-C6, CARTOSAT-2, INSAT-4B, SRE-1, PSLV-C7, PSLV-C8, GSLV-F04, INSAT 4CR and PSLV C10.

The man himself
B.Sc (Engineering), (1966), Kerala University with specialization in Electrical & Communication.
One year training at BARC Training School, (1967), Bombay.

Padma Bhushan (1998).

He grabbed several prestigious honors,fellowships,rewards and responsibilities.

ISRO Centres

  • Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC)
  • ISRO Satellite Centre (ISAC)
  • Satish Dhawan Space Centre, SHAR
  • Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre (LPSC)
  • Space Applications Centre (SAC)
  • Development and Educational Communication Unit (DECU)
  • ISRO Telemetry, Tracking and Command Network (ISTRAC)
  • INSAT Master Control Facility (MCF)
  • ISRO Inertial Systems Unit (IISU)
  • National Remote Sensing Agency (NRSA)
  • Regional Remote Sensing Service Centres (RRSSC)
  • Physical Research Laboratory (PRL)
  • National Mesosphere/Stratosphere Troposphere Radar Facility (NMRF)


  • Indian National Satellite System (INSAT) – A joint venture of Department of Space (DOS), Department of Telecommunications, India Meteorological Department, All India Radio and Doordarshan. DOS responsible for establishment and operation of INSAT space segment.
  • Indian Remote Sensing Satellite (IRS) System -IRS system under National Natural Resources Management System (NNRMS) coordinated at national level by the Planning Committee of NNRMS (PC-NNRMS). At present has four satellites, IRS-1B launched in August 1991, IRS-1C launched in December 1995 and IRS-1D launched on September 29,1997.
  • Stretched Rohini Satellite Series (SROSS)
  • Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV)
  • Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle (GSLV) – For launching 2,000 kg class of communication satellites into geosynchronous transfer orbit.

Recent Launch

In its thirteenth flight conducted from Satish Dhawan Space Centre (SDSC) SHAR, Sriharikota, (April 28, 2008), ISRO’s Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle, PSLV-C9, successfully launched the 690 kg Indian remote sensing satellite CARTOSAT-2A, the 83 kg Indian Mini Satellite (IMS-1) and eight nanosatellites for international customers into a 637 km polar Sun Synchronous Orbit (SSO). PSLV-C9 in its ‘core alone’ configuration launched ten satellites with a total weight of about 820 kg.


Comments are closed.