Common people like me always confuse between the car type and car segment. It has always been a difficult situation to identify a car type and to guess which segment it falls in. While browsing the internet I came across an article that had all the information about car segments and types. Then I came to know that segments are defined by length of the car and the shape of the body defines type.

Following are the specific categories of all vehicles sold in India as outlined by the Society of Indian Automobile Manufacturers (SIAM). Using the SIAM classification ensures that no vehicle type will slip through the net. These classifications help consumers to compare and identify similar vehicles and makes car buying process as easy as possible. It also helps identify other similar vehicles for consumers to compare against, to help make the car-buying process much easier.

Following is the classification of car Segments and types:

Car segments as per SIAM (Society of Indian Automobile Manufacturers)

The classification of segment is done on the basis of the length of the vehicle (Passenger car segment)
A1 Segment – Mini – Up to 3400mm (M800, Nano)
A2 Segment – Compact – 3401 to 4000mm (Alto, wagon r, Zen,i10,A-star,Swift,i20,palio,indica etc)
A3 Segment – Midsize – 4001 to 4500mm (City, Sx4, Dzire, Logan, Accent, Fiesta, Verna etc)
A4 Segment – Executive – 4501 to 4700mm (Corolla, civic, C class, Optra, Octavia etc)
A5 Segment – Premiun – 4701 to 5000mm (Camry, E class, Accord, Sonata, Laura, Superb etc)
A6 Segment – Luxury – Above 5000mm (Mercedes S class, 5 series etc)
B1 Segment – Van – Omni, Versa, Magic etc
B2 Segment – MUV/MPV – Innova, Tavera, Sumo etc
SUV Segment – CRV, Vitara etc

Classification of Cars based on body Shape

ONE BOX (VAN/MPV) – It means Engine area, Passenger area & luggage area all in one box. There wont be separate compartment. For eg. Omni, Ace Magic, Versa
TWO BOX (HATCHBACK) – It means Engine are has a separate cabin while Passenger area and luggage area are together. For eg. M800, Alto, Santro, i10, A*, Swift etc.
THREE BOX (SEDAN/SALOON/NOTCHBACK) – It means Engine area, Passenger area & luggage area all are having different cabin. For eg. SX4, City, Fiesta, Dzire, Ambassador, Indigo CS etc.
ESTATE/STATION WAGON – Its nothing but sedan whose roof is extended till the rearto create more boot space. For eg. Indigo Marina, Octavia Combi, etc.
SUV (Sports Utility Vehicle) – These vehicles have large tyres, higher seating, higher ground clearance. The engine area is separate, but the passenger & luggage area are enclosed together. Most of these vehicles are equipped with either 4 wheel drive system or has the option for that. For eg. CRV, SAFARI, GRAND VITARA, PAJERO etc
SEMI NOTCHBACK – Its a sedan whose boot door can be opened like a hatchback (wagon r, swift), where the rear wind sheild too opens along with the boot door. Unlike sedan whose rear wind sheild is always fixed. There are only few examples for SEMI NOTCHBACK – Skoda Octavia, Accent Viva.


  1. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all folks you actually know what you’re speaking approximately! Bookmarked. Please also talk over with my site =). We may have a link trade arrangement among us!

  2. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you’re a great
    author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog and will come back in the future.
    I want to encourage that you continue your great posts, have a nice weekend!

  3. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a coworker who was conducting a little research on this. And he actually ordered me dinner because I stumbled upon it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending the time to discuss this subject here on your site.|

  4. It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I desire to suggest you some interesting things or advice. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article. I desire to read more things about it!|

Comments are closed.